Your donations go toward funding scholarships, trips, and professional development opportunities
for our students. With your help, CGP will continue to train creative entrepreneurial museum leaders
committed to generating programs and services for the public good.

scholarship funds

Donations to all of the following funds can be made online here.
Please indicate which fund you would like to contribute to in the notes.

General Support of Cooperstown Graduate Association: This fund supports activities, events, and materials for the Cooperstown Graduate Association.

Alice Hemenway Scholarship: Alice Hemenway '74 was a museum leader committed to education and public service. This award is given to a second-year student who exemplifies dedication to professional standards and practices, service to the museum community, and commitment to linking scholarship, innovative public education, and material culture to deepen and diversify our understanding of Americans past and present.

Ann Stewart Summer Internship Fund: Ann Stewart was an alumna and later a staff member of the Cooperstown Graduate Program. Ann was extremely dedicated to the students and sensitive to their financial needs. This summer internship is designed to provide a stipend for a full time graduate student, particularly in an urban area which allows the student to engage with public audiences in a diverse community.

Bruce R. Buckley Lectureship: Named in honor of Dr. Bruce Buckley, a prominent New York State folklorist and former Dean of the Cooperstown Graduate Program, this lectureship brings together students, faculty, alumni, and the Cooperstown community to remember all that Buckley contributed to the field by honoring a folklorist who has made a significant and lasting contribution to fieldwork and the public understanding of folk culture.

Daniel Mayer Scholarship: The Daniel D. Mayer Fund for Interpretation through Exhibits is named for Daniel D. Mayer '73, an exhibition designer who dedicated his professional life to helping history museums interpret their collections. His legacy lives on with students today, through this fellowship, awarded annually to a second-year student.

Emily Ann Laird Scholarship: The family and friends of Emily Ann Laird established this scholarship in her memory. Emily was a student in the Cooperstown Graduate Program, class of 2012. She aspired to be a museum educator working with children and the chronically ill. The scholarship is awarded annually to a second-year student who has overcome a significant challenge. 

John Ben Snow Scholarship: CGP students enrich the cultural lives of New Yorkers through their research, exhibitions, and public programs. This endowed scholarship was created through gifts to alumni that were matched at a dollar-for-dollar rate by the John Ben Snow Foundation. This scholarship recognizes students who are committed to public service.

Langdon G. Wright Fund: Lanny Wright, a beloved faculty member of the Program for more than three decades, loved to drive around the countryside stopping at great rib joints along the way. The Langdon G. Wright Student Professional Development Fund is awarded to students for travel, registration fees, and thesis-related expenses needed to attend professional conferences and seminars, or to conduct research.

Louis C. Jones Fellowship: Established in 1985, this fellowship honors Dr. Jones' outstanding achievements in the museum profession and his founding of the Cooperstown Graduate Program. This fellowship provides financial support to students who best exemplify Dr. Jones' commitment to the future of the museum field.

Minor Wine Thomas Fund: This fund is named in honor of the former Chief Curator and Director of the New York State Historical Association and The Farmers' Museum. Minor Wine Thomas was a gifted and inspirational teacher at the Graduate Program who developed a pre-industrial technology course.

Rural-Urban Partnership:The Rural-Urban Partnership funds summer internships in cities, giving students experience working with diverse urban communities.